Directorate Changes 2013

SOCO announces with regret that Non-Executive Director, Michael Charles Johns, has retired as a director with effect from 30 September 2013 for compelling personal reasons. The Board would like to thank Mr Johns for his invaluable contribution to the Company during his tenure of office and wish him the very best for the future.

Appointment of Non-Executive Director

SOCO is pleased to announce that Marianne Daryabegui has been appointed as a Non-Executive Director with immediate effect.  Ms Daryabegui will serve as a member of the Audit, Remuneration and Nominations Committees.

Ms Daryabegui is currently the Managing Director of the Corporate Finance Oil and Gas Team at BNP Paribas in Paris, France.  She has extensive experience in oil and gas corporate transactions, including structured financing and reserve based lending facilities, and has advised a wide number of oil companies across the sector.

Prior to joining the Oil and Gas Team in 2006, Ms Daryabegui worked for 8 years in BNP Paribas' Energy Commodities Export Project Department where she headed the Commodity Structure Finance team for the Middle East, North and West Africa. Prior to joining BNP Paribas, Ms Daryabegui spent 8 years at TOTAL, working amongst other activities on upstream acquisitions and divestments in Europe and Africa.

Ms Daryabegui has a Masters degree in Finance and Capital Markets from Sciences Po University, Paris and a Masters in Tax and Corporate Law.

Ms Daryabegui does not currently hold any SOCO International plc shares. The Company confirms that there are no additional matters requiring disclosure under Rule 9.6.13 of the Listing Rules.

Ed Story, SOCO's Chief Executive, commented:

"Whilst sad to see Michael's departure, we are delighted to welcome Marianne to the SOCO Board today.  Her finance background and her experience and expertise as an advisor to the sector will enable her to make a valuable contribution which will complement and strengthen the full Board."


SOCO International plc
Roger Cagle, Deputy Chief Executive and Chief Financial Officer
Tel: 020 7747 2000

Bell Pottinger
Rollo Crichton-Stuart
Elizabeth Snow
Tel: 020 7861 3232